The Economic Outlook for China and the Rest of Asia-Pacific

General Information

Cost: Members: $95
Non-members: $195

Registration Includes: One telephone and web connection at one physical location


Time

10 am ET | 9am CT | 8am MT | 7am PT | 10pm HKT
*Please remember the time zone differences if you are not on the East Coast.*

 

About the Webinar

Join S&P Global Ratings’ Chief Economist Louis Kuijs as he discusses the growth of China’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) which is forecasted to ease to 4.6% in 2024 amid continued property weakness and modest policy stimulus. Although Consumer Price Index (CPI) deflation is unlikely, a lack of rebalancing towards consumption will weigh on prices and profit margins. And while China’s export structure is evolving in the face of global supply chain shifts, growth will slow but catchup with U.S. will continue in the long term.

In the rest of the Asia-Pacific, exports will continue to rise, but in developed economies inflation and restrictive interest rates will weigh on growth. Louis will explore the expectations of the region’s robust GDP growth in light of inflation easing, and pressure on central banks to lower interest rates. He will also share his thoughts on whether supply chain adjustment could be slower than suggested by mainstream press.

About the Speaker

Louis Kuijs, Chief Economist, Asia Pacific at S&P Global Ratings

Louis Kuijs's bio photo

Louis Kuijs is the Chief Economist of Asia Pacific at S&P Global Ratings. He previously worked as the Head of Asia Economics at Oxford Economics, based in Hong Kong. He is responsible for leading the firm’s Asia macroeconomic research and forecasting, and overseeing the team of economists across the region. Prior to joining Oxford Economics, Louis held a number of senior positions in both the public and private sectors, including at the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, and most recently as Chief Economist for Greater China for the Royal Bank of Scotland in Hong Kong. While with the World Bank in Beijing, he led the well-regarded China Quarterly Update, headed the Bank’s mid-term review of China’s 11th Five Year Plan and led research on China’s saving and investment, rebalancing, and long-term growth and structural change. Mr. Kuijs is a well-known observer of the Chinese economy and contributes regularly to the international media.

 

 

 

 

Webinar Access

Login instructions are sent to the registered attendees email address in a calendar invitation at the time of registration.

Please email Conventions_Info@nacm.org with questions.

When
5/17/2024 10:00 AM - 5/17/2024 11:00 AM
Where
USA

Sign in to register!